Would you nurse a starving baby?

Salma Hayek is such an amazing woman yet I’m almost tempted to say, “big deal.”  Not at her actions but at the media attention.  Why?  Shouldn’t the simple act of feeding a starving child be a no brainer?  Shouldn’t doing something for someone that they are unable to do themselves be the right thing to do and not this huge feat of humanity?  Selflessness should just be.  Not for the accolades, but for your own piece of mind that you did all you could to better a situation.   As a mother with the ability to nurse, how could you not?  Wouldn’t every bone in your body tell you to? What a beautiful piece of film.  What a shining example of what “mother” means.

Thoughts?

4 Comments

  1. February 17, 2009 at 12:48 am

    […] This is my world wrote an interesting post today on Would you nurse a starving baby?Here’s a quick excerptSalma Hayek is such an amazing woman yet I’m almost tempted to say, “b ig deal…. […]

  2. Valerie said,

    February 17, 2009 at 3:53 am

    I agree with you. I don’t understand why they’re making such a fuss about it. I personally would do it. I say hats off to Selma Hayek!

  3. February 18, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Yes I would. I don’t see what the big deal is. Your motherly instinct would come out and want to help the child in any way possible.

  4. March 12, 2009 at 5:48 am

    I am so glad you wrote this. I had been meaning to, but… I COMPLETELY agree. The first time I saw that clip I cried. It is the most precious and loving thing a mother can do for a child – any child. Great post 🙂 Thank you!


Leave a Reply

