Little man date

I had a date with my 3 year old son this evening.  Ever since the twins arrived his solo time with Mommy has become, well, lacking to say the least.  Days of venturing out to the park, combing the creek, walking the dogs, and chasing lizards have been replaced with a lot of, “Hold on,” “Not right now, buddy,” and, “Please settle down, your brothers are sleeping!”  Lately, he’s been getting a little stir crazy with the colder temperatures and the constant attention getting bestowed upon the tinier children.  This evening, after I felt myself starting to lose it as he was beginning yet another melt down over nothing, I swallowed the threat of a time out that was on the tip of my tongue and asked if he’d like to go get a chocolate mocha at the coffee store.  (Translation: a children’s hot chocolate at Starbucks.)  His eyes immediately lit up and we enjoyed ourselves for three hours out on the town, just Bubba and Mommy.  Sure, I dragged him into Target to check out the latest clearance deals, but I don’t think he minded one bit.  

Obviously this isn’t the first time I’ve ever taken my oldest out for some one on one time since the twins have been born, but I did realize tonight just how precious this time is for both of us and how much he really does enjoy it no matter what we’re doing.  I am going to make it a point to do this at least once a week.  Not only do I believe that it will keep our relationship close like I would like for it to be, but it will serve as a constant reminder that he is important to me despite the time that I devote to his baby brothers.

2 Comments

  1. tiffany said,

    January 22, 2009 at 3:25 am

    This is too precious! I’m glad you have the memories!

  2. annettepiper said,

    January 22, 2009 at 4:45 am

    I so know what you’re going through! My twins are 2 yrs and 8months younger than my boy. Before the twins came along it was just us most of the time (with DH out working on the farm) and he’s literally like a sponge – just laps up attention and NEVER gets enough. Then the twins arrived. Hmmmm. He wasn’t terribly impressed that I couldn’t play and he kept being sent to get things I couldn’t because I had my arms full, but he put on a brave face and played as close as he could.

    It’s important to spend some solo time with your boy and I’m so glad you had a great time together 🙂

    Keep in touch – and if you have any worries about how to do it with twins and an older one – please ask!!!


Leave a Reply

