Absolutely Organized? Absolutely Fabulous!

Anyone who knows me is well aware of my penchant for living in utter chaos.  Our family has no real routine which means my preschooler and two baby boys have relatively no grasp on the daily grind.  Eating happens when hunger strikes, naps happen when eyes are heavy, and everyone just kind of marches to their own drummer.  As you can imagine, this is wearing on my last nerve (finally, after 4 years).  You would think the constant “go where the wind blows” mentality would have worn thin earlier, but I’m a trooper!  I was far more bound and determined to be an idiot mommy for way longer than anyone might have anticipated. 

My point though is I’m done. 

My pretty new life vest

My pretty new life vest

I recently purchased Absolutely Organized and I’m pouring through it with with every intention of following it to the letter.  For someone like me who will shy away from schedules and has a complete melt down complete with shakes and paralysis upon getting overwhelmed, this is a good book for me.  Sometimes, even at 26, I need someone to hold my hand and gently kick my ass into gear.  My God, I’m a hot mess.  And I’m in charge of 3 tiny little beings! 

While we’re on the subject of organization, I stumbled upon several other little helpful tidbits of information that I’m going to start putting into practice in my life.  You might want to, too.  

The Inspired Room  wrote two great articles on Divine Caroline that you can find here and here.  There are a lot of great ideas in those posts involving simple things you can do to make your daily life easier.  One that I’d put into practice quite some time ago after coming across the Fly Lady is to always have a clean sink before you go to bed at night.  Waking up to that shiny stainless steel really is like a good morning hug.

What do you do to achieve organizational zen?  If there is something out there that I should know about, leave me a comment!

1 Comment

  1. annettepiper said,

    January 20, 2009 at 2:04 am

    LOL, I can so associate! I must admit when my children were little they were like little soldiers – everything was done together otherwise I would never have got a moments peace!! Now they are older though (at 8,8,10) its a bit ‘anyway the wind blows’ … although I do have to get tough when they return to school next week!


Leave a Reply

